top of page
  • Writer's pictureapalenzuela

A little something for WestProjections Festival



Title: Floral Sheets / Internal External


Home is a complicated thing sometimes. Throughout my life, I've often found myself in situations where home was not a place I could rely on and wasn't a place of safety, so when trying to create something to reflect my idea of a home in a positive light I tried to think more broadly about things that I enjoyed, namely plants, books, blankets... all things that I gravitate towards, and all the things that I find I surround myself with almost compulsively.

 

My desk at uni is covered in these, I've filled my room with almost more books and plants that I can manage but do anyway. I've done everything I can to create enclosed spaces of safety and comfort. Thinking on the theme, I've found that the only constant that I've had in my life to make me feel safe is my own self, my body, and my work. So going back to the animation, I wanted to create something that will maybe express how a home can be something you create, and something you can find within yourself. 


Fun fact: the flowers that I've used in my animation are silhouettes of some small flowers I painted to go on table cards at my mother's wedding early this year, just a little reminder for myself of development and change in the existence of home and families. 

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page